Connect with us

The Democratic National Committee announced Thursday the 20 presidential candidates that will participate in the first presidential debate, which is scheduled for June 26-27.

In order to secure a spot in the debate, candidates must’ve either received donations from at least 65,000 unique donors (with a minimum of 200 donors in more than 19 states) or receive at least 1% support in three DNC-approved polls.

14 of the 20 candidates were able to reach both thresholds.

  • Joe Biden, former vice president to Barack Obama
  • Cory Booker, senator from New Jersey
  • Pete Buttigieg, mayor of South Bend, Indiana
  • Julián Castro, former Housing and Urban Development Secretary to Barack Obama
  • Tulsi Gabbard, representative from Hawaii
  • Kirsten Gillibrand, senator from New York
  • Kamala Harris, senator from California
  • Jay Inslee, governor of Washington
  • Amy Klobuchar, senator from Minnesota
  • Robert “Beto” O’Rourke, former representative from Texas
  • Bernie Sanders, senator from Vermont
  • Elizabeth Warren, senator from Massachusetts
  • Marianne Williamson, author
  • Andrew Yang, entrepreneur

Six candidates qualified for the debate via the polls.

  • Michael Bennet, senator from Colorado
  • Bill de Blasio, mayor of New York City
  • John Delaney, former representative from Maryland
  • John Hickenlooper, former governor of Colorado
  • Tim Ryan, representative from Ohio
  • Eric Swalwell, representative from California

Four presidential candidates did not qualify for the debate — Montana Gov. Steve Bullock, former Alaska Sen. Mike Gravel, Massachusetts Rep. Seth Moulton, and Mayor Wayne Messam of Miramar, Florida.

Bullock thought he qualified for the debate after reaching the polling threshold only to have one of those three polls be excluded because it was an open-ended poll, which meant those surveyed wrote in their top candidate. President Donald Trump and former first lady Michelle Obama also received votes in this particular poll.

The debate will be moderated by co-anchor of “TODAY” Savannah Guthrie, NBC Nightly News anchor Lester Holt, moderator of “Meet the Press” and NBC News political director Chuck Todd, MSNBC host Rachel Maddow and “Noticias Telemundo” anchor José Diaz-Balart.

In order for candidates to qualify for the third debate in September, they will need to receive contributions from at least 130,000 donors and hit at least 2% in four polls conducted between June 28 (the day after the conclusion of the first debate) and August 28.

Continue Reading


  1. gizmo

    June 14, 2019 at 1:20 pm

    None of them have America’s interest in mind. They are in the tank for the free stuph, more taxes, and open borders. VOTE REPUBLICAN or we lose the America we love.

  2. Wanda Frost

    June 14, 2019 at 3:40 pm


  3. Love babies not kill them

    June 14, 2019 at 4:42 pm

    I read that harris the terrorist is not eligible to be president because both parents were not born here. We dont want another pisslamic pig in the wh anyway

  4. Jill

    June 14, 2019 at 5:15 pm

    The thought of all of them in one place all together. Thinking of the possibilities makes me giddy.

  5. Trump gal

    June 14, 2019 at 6:50 pm

    Gosh oh, there’s another television show I’ll have to boycott. I hope everyone boycotts the show so that they won’t get any money from their advertisements. Wouldn’t it be nice if Trump scheduled at Trump rally on that night?

  6. Tom

    June 14, 2019 at 6:51 pm

    The circus begins…

  7. MissD

    June 14, 2019 at 7:28 pm

    Lol .. what a bunch of liberal assholes!! Trump 2020 !!!

  8. LST

    June 14, 2019 at 8:15 pm

    What a long list of potential jackasses. Any of them would be a disaster. Trump/Pence again in ’20. Four more years of M A G A ! ! !

  9. madge

    June 14, 2019 at 11:11 pm

    Oh what a potent brew they have concocted. I will watch to get the laughs that surely will be brought forth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *